

Henry Jacob Bigelow (1818-1890) was a surgeon at the Massachusetts General Hospital. An 1841 graduate of Harvard Medical School and leading surgeon of his day, he is best remembered as the author of an 1846 paper published in the New England Journal of Medicine detailing the first use of ether for anesthesia. In a 2012 poll of Journal readers, this paper was selected as the single most important paper ever published in the Journal. In 1915 the Bigelow Medal was established in his honor by the Boston Surgical Society after a generous donation from his son, William Sturgis Bigelow. The award was intended to recognize "a surgeon...whose contributions to the science and art of surgery in the opinion of the Executive Council of the Society are of the greatest value."



## 2017 Bigelow Medal Recipient

## Lenworth M. Jacobs, MD, MPH, FACS

Professor of Surgery, University of Connecticut Vice President, Academic Affairs Chief Academic Officer, Director, Trauma Institute Hartford Hospital, Hartford Connecticut

"Increasing Survival from Active Shooter and ALL Severe Hemorrhagic Events"

Monday November 6, 2017

DoubleTree Hotel Boston, MA 02111

## BIGELOW MEDAL RECIPIENTS BOSTON SURGICAL SOCIETY

1921	William Mayo	Rochester, MN
1922	W.W. Keene	Philadelphia, PA
1926	Rudolph Matas	New Orleans, LA
1928	Chavalier Johnson	Philadelphia, PA
1931	George Gray Turner	London, England
1932	J.M.T. Finney	Baltimore, MD
1933	Harvey Cushing	Boston, MA
1937	Edward Archibald	Montreal, Quebec
1941	Allen O. Whipple	New York, NY
1946	Frank Lahey	Boston, MA
1947	Elliott Carr Cutler	Boston, MA
1951	Evarts Graham	St. Louis, MO
1955	Edward D. Churchill	Boston, MA
1956	Arthur W. Allen	Boston, MA
1961	Clarence Crafoord	Stockholm, Sweden
1964	Alfred Blalock (posthumous)	Baltimore, MD
1964	Lester Dragstedt	Gainesville, FL
1967	Charles Huggins	Chicago, II
1970	Robert Gross	Boston, MA
1973	Francis D. Moore	Boston, MA
1978	J. Englebert Dunphy	San Francisco, CA
1982	John W. Kirklin	Birmingham, AL
1986	Claude E. Welch	Boston, MA
1989	Thomas Starzl	Pittsburg, PA
1992	Joseph E. Murray	Boston, MA
1996	David C. Sabiston	Durham, NC
2001	W. Hardy Hendren	Boston, MA
2003	Hermes Grillo	Boston, MA
2005	M. Judah Folkman	Boston, MA
2012	William Silen	Boston, MA
2014	Murray Brennan	New York, NY
2017	Lenworth M. Jacobs	Hartford, CT



Lenworth M. Jacobs, MD, MPH, FACS is Vice President of Academic Affairs, Chief Academic Officer, and Director of the Trauma Institute at Hartford Hospital. He is also Assistant Dean of Education and a Professor of Surgery at the University of Connecticut. He graduated from the University of the West Indies Medical School in 1970, receiving his surgical training at the then Peter Bent Brigham Hospital in Boston and at University and Boston City Hospitals. He subsequently earned a Masters degree in Public Health from the Harvard School of Public Health. In 1977, he became the Director of Emergency Medical Services for the City of Boston and the Trauma Center at Boston City Hospital. In this capacity, he designed and implemented EMS and paramedic training in Basic and Advanced Life Support. In 1983 he moved to Hartford Hospital and the University of Connecticut, where he implemented the LIFE STAR Air Medical Service and the Trauma Center at Hartford Hospital.

Dr. Jacobs is the Chairman of the Hartford Consensus Joint Committee to Enhance Survivability from Active Shooter and Intentional Mass Casualty Events. Currently a Regent of the American College of Surgeons, he was recently appointed to the Defense Health Board, Federal Advisory Committee to the Secretary of Defense, Washington, DC. He is a past Director of the American Board of Surgery and has served on the Executive Committee of the Governors of the American College of Surgeons. He is a founder and past President of the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma (EAST) and past Vice President of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma (AAST). He is past President of the American Trauma Society.

He has over 200 publications including numerous books and book chapters, and is the founder of the Advanced Trauma Operative Management Course (ATOM) and the Editor of the ATOM Textbook. In addition to many international honors, he has received the Connecticut American College of Surgeons Distinguished Service Award. He has been recognized by his peers for his contribution to the surgery of trauma and has been the recipient of the Meritorious Award of the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma. The American College of Surgeons, American Association for the Surgery of Trauma, and the National Safety Council presented him with the "Surgeons' Award for Service to Safety".